Don’t you HATE when…

Okay, this might be common for some of you – but do you not HATE it when you realize that nobody seems to fit the ‘right’ standards? (I’m not going to lower my own standards just because nobody around me wants what I want) I honestly can’t seem to understand what it is that I’m doing wrong or if that I’m destined to be a dog person. Anyway, this is just a rant.

– R

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Robert. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Don’t you HATE when…

  1. Jay M. says:

    Okay, I was okay up until you got to “dog person” so maybe I’m missing something here. But I tend not to judge based on arbitrary “standards”. But I think I get what you mean with the (). This seems like a reference to peer pressure of some sort, or a lack of some group to ascribe to your set minimums of achievement.

    Based on the total information about you, Robert, you’re not doing anything wrong…certainly not for reaching for the brass ring!

    Peace <#
    Jay

  2. Jay M. says:

    was the tweet directed at me??????

  3. tristram says:

    You gotta remember that you’re living in a little tiny corner of a big, wide world. And that world is full of amazing people, many of whom will “exceed expectations.” You just need to live your life, pursue your goals, strive to meet your own standards and (most important) stay positive and open to others. [But if you’re waiting for someone utterly perfect to come along, I suggest you take a couple of minutes to watch Dan Savage’s YT vid called ‘the price of admission.’] End of sermon.

  4. Steven says:

    You’re young, yet. And, yes, youth has the luxury of being pickier, but you also don’t want to let opportunities to live life pass you by, especially when they’re so ripe and intense in youth. Nobody is absolutely perfect—nobody–and high standards are good but ensure they are also realistic. You also may be surprised to learn things about yourself and what you do and do not like in other people when you take a chance to get to know someone that might not pass some superficial or not-fully-explored “first cut” standards. I heartily second watching Savage’s clip on the price of admission.

  5. Ethan says:

    I know exactly how you feel! Well there is this one kid at my school that I think is gay but I’m not sure how to talk to him, and suggestions?

  6. Thomas says:

    From what I’ve seen and experienced, there are a lot of people both gay and straight who have this annoying sense of elitism when it comes to some things like one person commented, just because they have the luxury to be that way for some reason or another. People pass it off with the explanation “I just know what I want” or something like that, and that may be true, but to some people it just comes off as having high standards of yourself that other people MUST match or just not bother, as not being open to just giving other things a chance. Just because people have the luxury of being picky, doesn’t mean they have to be. In the end, no one knows us better than we know ourselves, so if you’re 100% sure that you won’t accept anything other than whatever, then more power to ya. Just understand that the less you’re willing to be open to other things, the less room you legitimately have to complain when people or things don’t meet your expectations.

Leave a comment