Pulled muscle to start off the soccer season

I think I pulled my adductor magnus. I’ve got no idea what that is exactly, but it’s something in my groin. Upon googling it I saw, “It is aggravated by running and quick movements… including moving side to side and kicking a ball.” Damn.

On a slightly nicer note, soccer try outs have begun and that means no more conditioning. Woo! Try outs have actually been going on for a week, so let me fill you in. Last Monday was my favorite day because I barely did anything. Due to bad weather, we had try outs inside… in the hallway. We did push ups, sit ups, jumps, and broad jump. We were all split up into four groups and did one station at a time. I was given a clipboard and I took down times/push up count/etc for one group. I felt pretty cool. I got to yell at some freshmen.

The rest of the week was spent at a terrible mud pit field (no field at school and we don’t get our nice turf field until tomorrow.) Tuesday sucked, it was all running (running + adductor strain = no fun.) The rest of the week we did small-sided possession and things like that. This will be my third year on varsity, so I can’t really say I’m worried about making the team. What I am worried about is getting back in the rhythm of things and not getting hurt. But that’s not a huge deal until practice starts. So right now I’m having fun, scouting the possible new players for varsity, and-I have to admit- scouting some cute guys. There’s like seventy people, there are bound to be some good looking ones. Once drills start, I focus. It’s really easy to get your ass cut up if you’re not focused. I am thinking about soccer when I need to, but when the coaches are giving their bullshit ‘everybody is good at soccer’ speeches… my eyes wander. It’s all in good fun. Hey, if everybody gets to joke around about girls and shit, then I get to check out guys. It looks like most of the cute kids are gonna be on JV, but maybe that’s a good thing. It’ll be easier to focus once the season starts.

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pulled muscle to start off the soccer season

  1. Jay M. says:

    Take care of the pull. Don’t injure it further! But sounds like it’s going to be a great season for you. Nice to be a senior varsity player, eh? 😉

    Peace ❤
    Jay

  2. Zingerific says:

    What you’ve advanced here is analogous to the “Fairness Doctrine” in broadcasting: if they can talk about girls, I can check out guys. I love it.

    There are, in my view, definate positives to being gay, and it’s good to highlight those now and again. I’m all for fighting discrimination, but once in a while it gets a little dreary to focus on all of the crap that happens to us. What I like about your post is that it reminds me of the simple joy of checking out hot guys. That’s the kind of stuff that gets us through the tough spots.

    Keep us posted on your college application process.

  3. Andy says:

    Take care! And have fun!..
    Oh and theres nothing hotter than guys in uniforms..lol

  4. Christopher says:

    Haha! Loved this post and the responses!
    Like this, too, ’cause of the “simple joy of checking out hot guys.” 🙂
    NEVER gets old!
    C.j.

Leave a Reply

