Inspired

Last night at 2 A.M. I found myself sitting on my couch, flipping through channel after endless channel until I found a documentary on ‘Pride’. Now I’ve never fully understood the meaning of ‘Pride’ or the marches and parades some cities hold but I became enveloped in this documentary. Some of the footage made me laugh, some of it made me cry – but one thing is for sure, I’ve come to understand what having ‘Pride’ means.

Some believe that such parades and marches are unnecessary, however it is quite the contrary. A part of the documentary took place in Moscow, Russia, which is far behind Europe in acceptance and pro-gay politics. One, Nikolai Alekseev, led the first peaceful march in Russia in 2008. Previous marches always instigated violence; however, Nikolai’s secret meetings all led to the first peaceful march. While Russia is a long way from where New York or San Fran is, it is enlightening to see such forward activism in such a place where simply being gay is demonized.

Seeing the Pride parades of New York, British Columbia, São Paulo, or the like, really inspired me to one day, be a part of something that big. However small the contribution, we all can do something to progress to a free world for all.

If any of you have been to a Pride march or parade, please post your experiences! I would so love to read them.

 

– Robert

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Robert. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspired

  1. willie231 says:

    Robert, You have to come to Dallas and experience our pride. One of the most enjoyable experiences you will ever have. Most parades i can take or leave them but this one, as all pride parades, do have meaning. Lest we forget the ones who sacrificed so much for what we have now and what we will have in the future the parades and marches must continue.

    wm

  2. Jay M. says:

    Robert,
    One statement you made I agree with 100%: “…some of it made me cry…”
    I didn’t get to a Pride event this year, but I certainly followed a lot of it since I’m in the process of coming out and wanting to be a part of an event like that. What dismays me are the guys that parade around in their underwear, with clear sexual messages on them. I’m sorry, but if we gays want to be accepted as equals in society, we can’t be so extravagant. You don’t see other celebratory parades with people parading around essentially naked! Have a parade that shows us as “the boy next door”, not the weirdo in the street! I don’t care if you want to dress like that at home/club, etc., and perhaps as an olde farte I am behind the times, but it just makes me cringe.
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  3. Cbus Queer says:

    What was the name of the documentary?

    I went to my first Pride celebration this year, in Columbus, Ohio. It was interesting, but I was too shy to talk to anyone, and none of my friends could go with me, so I didn’t enjoy it much. Next year I’m going to make sure I have people to go with.

  4. Went to my first Pride Celebration at the age of 27! 🙂

    It was great fun, and had my best girlfriend with me, so that always makes things more enjoyable. (Thanks Kelly!)

    What I realized at the time was that it wasn’t a place of debauchery, but Pride, and I’ve had the same experience at Pride celebrations since.

    Haters will hate, but some of us can enjoy having pride in ourselves and our community! 🙂
    +C.j.

Leave a Reply

