Lookin up and up and up (literally)

I drive right through here almost every day. The sight never gets old.

I am typing this on my iPod from the Georgia Tech campus in the middle of downtown Atlanta. I talked recently about how my school schedule has taken so much work and about how my school refuses to cooperate with anything. Well that’s over- of course with public school it never ends, but the bulk of my fight is over. Now I get to see the beautiful Atlanta skyline every day, either from the interstate on my way to Tech or from the 13th story of my building on the CDC campus. It’s breathtaking every single day.

More than just my schedule is looking up now. I’ve started college apps, meaning I’m that much closer to graduating. The most exciting news, though, is about an opportunity I’ll be taking before college. Through this blog, I have been invited to a private school in Massachusetts to participate in on research panel with two other people, a New York Times contributor and a university psychologist! That’s frickin’ amazing! (Brad and Robert were also invited but the group was narrowed down to just me due to circumstance.) I’ll post more later this year after it happens.

It’s opportunities like this that show you the smallest endeavor can lead to huge success. initially, I only participated in the blog because Brad asked me to at the beginning of the year. I’ve also almost dropped the blog a few times because of homework stress, but my parents convinced me to keep it going. The emails I received from readers have kept me going through the beginning of this school year. Now I can see that, no matter how you measure success,when you take on a challenge, if you persevere, you will somehow meet your standard in a manner you would never expect.

-Ben

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lookin up and up and up (literally)

  1. Jay M. says:

    Atlanta is a beautiful city, I always love it when I make it down there.
    Congrats on getting the schedule straightened out, even if the school was a boulder in the path.
    The opportunity in Mass. sounds awesome. Be interesting to hear exactly what you’re going to be doing.
    And you hit the nail on the head: if you stick with something, it can pay big dividends. Too bad Brad and Robert can’t join you, I’m sure you guys would love to meet in person, though that could still happen. You sticking with the blog means a lot to a lot of people who look up to you as inspiration and affirmation that gay guys can “make it” in this world, and be on top while doing it!
    You’ve got a big year in front of you, but you’ve proven that you can manage your time and make it all work, so keep up the good work, Ben. Look forward to updates when you can squeeze them in!

    Peace ❤
    Jay

  2. Jeffrey says:

    Ben, how are things going with balancing HS classes, GA Tech, And the CDC? You seem to have a lot on your plate, and all (ok, most) of it sounds exciting. When does the panel take place? I’m eager to hear about it.

    All the best,
    Jeffrey

Leave a Reply

