After all, I am the expert

I don’t know if it’s just my high school, or if all schools are terrible at organizing schedules. The first few weeks of school are always spent with kids crammed into the counseling office to fix their schedules: to switch out of classes they didn’t sign up for, to fill holes in their schedule, to get a schedule that will actually help them graduate. My school has a habit of giving kids schedules that will actually make it harder for them to graduate. Right now, I am in three of the right classes, only one of the right times. It is literally a fight to fix a schedule. I managed to organize joint enrollment in a chemistry class a GA Tech (That’s a HUGE accomplishment) and the principal of the school told me I should probably drop the class because it was in the middle of the day and made it harder for the counselors to get me a good schedule. The principal told me to drop a college class. Thanks, dude. Anyway, that’s beside the point.

Today, yet another kid switched into my first period econ class. A friend turned to me and, in a roundabout sort of way, asked if I thought the kid was gay. Just for the record, he acts a bit feminine, has a lot of girlfriends, all that. So I said yeah I think so. Then another kid turned and said, hey yeah, you ARE the expert. And I didn’t feel uncomfortable. He knew I was gay and I didn’t care. Also for the record, I’m wearing a rainbow tie-dye shirt, a rainbow bracelet, and purple shoes… just to test people (and I like the clothes.) Here’s to a hopeful year.

-Ben

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to After all, I am the expert

  1. Ángel says:

    Don´t you worry, in college it gets worse. 😛 Or at least over here in Mexico. I’m in my last semester of college and this was a particularly difficult one to arrange an schedule for. It is worse than solving a freaking sudoku, it’s like the people who made them were stoned or something.

    Anyways, I’ve found Facebook to be a great place to vent, what with everyone telling the dude in charge of the schedules to f*ck himself and stuff like that. It’s fun to read in times of stress.

    Oh, and it’s great you have a gaydar, I usually have to turn to my straight friends and ask them if a dude I like is gay, ’cause whoever was in charge of handing out gaydars forgot to build one in me. I just can’t tell unless they have like their tounges shoved down another guy’s throat or something.

    Take care.

  2. Jay M. says:

    Good for you, Ben. Being comfortable with yourself is soooo very important. I think pushing people like you are, without being all “in your face” is important, too, for all of us. I’d love to see the outfit, sounds cool!

    Peace ❤
    Jay

  3. dj says:

    Haha. This reminds me of those awkward conversations where friends will point out some random off the street or in the mall and ask “Is he/she gay or bi?”… f/p

Leave a Reply

