What’s your take?

First I’m going to say, this is something that’s been bothering me lately and I really don’t understand why. So I researched a bit and found an article: http://resources.metapress.com/pdf-preview.axd?code=x2775u47x51qt822&size=largest

For anyone who doesn’t believe in a ‘flexible’ sexuality then I advise you not to participate in answering a few questions.

1. Did/Had you ever experience(d) a time where you came to think of yourself gay then bisexual, or straight then bisexual?

2. Did/Had you ever experience(d) a time where you could notice a definite change in sexual attraction from one gender to another?

3. What did you do to asses this if you answered yes to any of the two above questions.

The reason I am asking this is because lately I’ve felt an unknown reason for feelings more attracted sexually to my female counterparts rather than male counterparts. I’d assume it’s a mix of emotional and physical feelings and hormones going on in my body at once however some may say different. (I’m certainly not an expert on such a study.)

Do you think this is normal for someone to go through? I’d really like some feedback on this issue of mine.

Thanks for your time.

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Poll. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What’s your take?

  1. Michael says:

    Well I think that everybody is different in that some gays, bisexuals and heterosexuals take decades to discover their “true” sexuality. But the thing is that people put labels on the different sexualities, when really they should be separated into two parts, let me explain. Firstly, when I say I am gay, I am only referring to my sexual desires, my lusts and what turns me on. But that most definitely does not mean I could never fall in love with a woman, it is quite possible. But let’s go bact to sexual attraction; we must not view it as exclusive, what I mean is that sexuality is a spectrum and a very small percent of people are completely gay and completely straight, meaning the majority of people will at one or more times in their life be attracted to the sex that they are not normally attracted to, and this almost always happens during adolesence, when you are still discovering who you are, it’s a time of experimentation. So I don’t know if this helped you at all, but yeah this is what I believe πŸ™‚

  2. Ryan M. says:

    I’ve never experienced any sort of attraction to someone of the opposite sex before, but I believe sexuality can be fluid in many people. However, I don’t think it’s the same type of fluid as the introduction to this study suggests.

    If you were bi, I think these sorts of feelings towards women would have been lingering for as long as you can remember. I have read other studies on this subject and it is very rare for someone to have genuine attraction towards one sex (either same or opposite) and then “grow out of it” or “change it” over time.

    This could be a number of things, Robert. Most likely: you’re young and curious. The fact that this is coming about lately suggests to me it’s a hetero phase. Perhaps your feelings are towards one or two specific girls, in which case other emotions could just be getting mixed up in your friendships. A telling moment would be a kiss: if you feel that spark, then maybe you indeed can’t be categorized into a specific label. Or, you could end up feeling nothing and realize you’re indeed a homo and all is right with the world.

    Emotions are rarely ever easy or clear-cut. My advice to you: don’t waste your energy worrying about it. You will find the answers you’re looking for in due course. Just keep living your life and try not to take anything for granted.

  3. Tom Davis says:

    The world is complicated, so don’t worry too much about what it means to be “normal”. You’re going to die soon (probably in less than 100 years*) so don’t waste any of your precious life worrying about how to label yourself or trying to live up to a label someone else has assigned you. Labeling something doesn’t give you more information than you had before the label was assigned. Ultimately, none of us falls in love or has sex with “men” or “women”, it’s always with particular individuals. Be true to yourself.

    * though even if that number is 900 years that still doesn’t leave any time to waste.

  4. urbby says:

    All of these silly little bitches need to back the fuck off cause you’re mine pizza boy. We’re getting married and living in a big mansion; I’ll be a doctor and you’ll be my hot lawyer husband. Okay? Thank youuu πŸ™‚ oh and as to your post who cares about a label? You should only care about meee

  5. Slytopman says:

    Labels are always a problem. What started as GL turned into GLB then GLBT and now GLBTQ and I’m sure they’ll keep adding initials to the list. The reality is that the research (as early as the 1950’s and 60’s) show that it’s not a simple yes/no gay/straight division. MOST folks experience physical and/or mental(emotional) attraction to SOME members of each gender. It’s no big deal and shouldn’t screw with your head. Worry less about labels and more about what works for you.

  6. Jacob Denali says:

    As long as this isn’t followed up by a post saying you are really some 50-year old straight guy who is married with kids.

    But to be serious. I wouldn’t be in too much of a hurry to define yourself (like most of the other posters have noted). You just have to be true to yourself, and honest with everyone else. As long as you stick to that, just enjoy the journey and whomever you meet along the way.

  7. Jay M. says:

    I can’t say that I’ve ever felt a true sexual attraction to a female, though I have experienced that type of sexual behavior. I guess once I felt romantically attracted to a female, though that was short lived and the lack of sexual attraction was part of the reason the relationship ended. So no, I’ve never considered myself straight, that seems to be your question.

    A label is simply a word. One thing I have learned is that no matter how hard I tried to “like”, “love”, be attracted to the opposite sex, it never changed my true feelings, orientation, or attractions. It will hurt more to try to become someone you aren’t than accepting who you are…gay, straight or bisexual.

    Peace ❀
    Jay

Leave a Reply

