Cubicle fun

This is Ben, how can I help you? It has begun. I’ve got a summer job in a call center at a garage door company. I know how exciting that sounds, but please stop your leg from shaking and your hand from trembling. It’s really quite mundane. I come in at 9:00, clock in, sit down at my cubicle, put on my headset, and sit. For five hours. Then I get my lunch break and another three hours before I drag myself home and go to sleep (or out with friends.) I feel very professional sitting in an office with my shirt tucked in, but this job has given me more so far than just summer money and work experience.

I’ve learned that I want never ever to work in a call center or in a bland service job after this year. This job has given me even more motivation to go to college and get into a career that I really enjoy. I don’t want retirement to be the happiest part of my job, which seemed the case in an employee of ten years who retired a few days ago. If anybody wants to skip out on college and just “see how things go,” try working forty hours a week for a garage door company or for any of the other exciting service companies out there. Then tell me college is for squares.

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cubicle fun

  1. Ryan M. says:

    Amen. After you get your degree, don’t be afraid to be stubborn and apply to jobs only that you want. If you know what you want, go for it and don’t let anyone stop you.

    Plus college will be the four best years of your life. Don’t waste a single day while you’re an undergrad.

  2. Jay M. says:

    Double Amen!!!
    However, Ben, experience like this can be invaluable. Even if you turn into a renowned physicist that turns Einstein on his ear, the skills you gain in dealing with the dumbest animal on the planet (the general public, of which I am a member, thank you very much) will serve you well. If you want the honest truth, and quite honestly I try to tell it as it is…the skills I gained delivering newspapers seven mornings a week and collecting the payment for said newspapers each and every week from nearly 200 customers has probably meant more to my professional development over the years than the degree plus some grad school has meant.
    So don’t discount the contributions a menial, possibly miserable, job can provide to you. I slogged through rain, snow, storms of all description, heat, cold, you name it…I argued with idiots who didn’t want to pay, idiots who swore they didn’t get their paper (while holding in their hand), you name it, when you deal with the general public, you deal with everything from nice little old ladies to dead bodies (yup, I found one).
    I am still smiling at “garage door company”. But DO YOUR BEST!!! You’ll be happy you did.
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  3. Emily says:

    Overhead door 4lyfe.
    Love, Emily.

Leave a Reply

