Snapshot of my life

Listen to this while you read. It’s my muse. The song has also got an award-winning video to accompany. Imagine that. Greatness enjoys its own company.

I discovered not long ago that my dad listens to rap. He is a Kansas-bred lawyer and a white boy (sorry, Pop), but he is pretty fly… for a white guy. My dad has shown me Talib Kweli and Mos Def and Nas, some of the greatest rap artists to ever touch a mic. My mom listens to Fort Minor and Eminem. Two of her favorite songs are I’m So Paid, by Akon, and You Don’t Know, by 50 Cent.  So everyone who has lame parents, I’m sorry. I’ve never had that experience.

Soccer is going well, the team is 4-0 right now. My most recent game was the first region game of the season. We played the regular starting lineup minus some changes to accommodate our stopper who sprained his ankle scoring our winning goal in the last minute of overtime in the game before. We got up 3-0 by about halfway through the second half, so coach started putting in the second and third strings. While I was on the bench, my coach turned to a player who normally starts, but had yet to play this game, and sputtered,” Oh, shit. I forgot to sub you in.” The player was alright with it and we moved on with the game. With a few minutes left in the 3-0 game, one of our strikers received a yellow card for a ‘dangerous’ tackle with the opposing keeper (some referees are so dramatic.) My coach turned to the player with no PT, who is a defender, not by any means a striker, and said,” You want this?” The defender went in and after fifteen second- FIFTEEN SECONDS- finished the game off with a goal. I’m lookin’ at you, Mustafa.

I’ve covered home life and sports life. All that’s left is school life. School sucks, I hate it, it’s so boring. The end. I’d rather focus on next school year, it’s much more exciting. The normal school schedule holds seven fifty-minute classes, but my ideal future schedule says fuck that. I plan on taking three classes at school, taking one class at GA Tech, and interning at the CDC (it’s headquartered in Atlanta.) Oh yes, this will happen. The wheels are already rolling and I will accept no less. Until then, I’ll do my time and learn what I can.

Which one are you inside?

Of course I will update you all with my gay news, too. I’m getting more and more out every day. I’m speaking about it more on facebook and in conversation. Now this hasn’t led to any romantic proposals by closeted hotties, but I am getting more and more comfortable around my peers at school and at soccer. There is more to coming out than just letting people know who you are. I am more confident in who I am, more comfortable talking to other people, and just happier in general. Everybody come out? Come out, that’s a funny idea. It’s like you are thrown in one barrel when you are born and you have to spend the first years of puberty climbing the splintered walls of that one barrel to jump into another. I say society won’t be right until we break the barrels and everybody sits in the same container. We won’t be sexually free until nobody is assumed to be anything and a man can be interested in anybody, likewise for a woman, and for everybody in between. I understand people are sometimes attracted to only one sex and to the opposite sex. But that’s not everybody. Don’t act like it is.

That’s my life right now. Tell me about yours.

-Ben

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snapshot of my life

  1. Della says:

    Oh this was a lovely post and I sure do love this blog. I was trying to remember how I found it but it is still amazing nonetheless. I too never had LAME parents. My father is a die hard country fan with most modern RNB and my mother and I are total classic Soul fans although I myself have the most odd musical taste of anyone I know. It is not just classic soul, but definitely early jazz and blues and the great american songbook. I am just obsessed with a certain few chanteuses of a certain time.

    Any way do not let me bore you. I am so glad you all have this blog and I will definitely encourage my friends to read. I hope you do continue to post and keep it updated. It is going to be a big part of history. It may seem minor now but someone or a certain hand full of people’s lives are changing and empowering by reading this.

    Thanks For Having Me,
    Della! 🙂

  2. Ryan says:

    Your last paragraph was spot on. Well said.

  3. Jay M. says:

    Ha, my life would fill a blog! Oh wait, I’m working on that! LOL

    It’s great everything is going well, Ben. It’s even greater that you are having a good experience in coming out. All three of you are great guys, and like I’ve told Brad and Robert, your blog and your willingness to share your lives in it are providing inspiration to so many other guys your age, older, and younger, and proving that not only does it get better, it gets easier. We are living in far more enlightened times than I did when I was your age. I’m so happy for you.

    The confidence you are gaining, and the comfortableness mean the rest of your life will be far easier than so many of us that struggled in the closet for so long!

    Congratulations, Ben!
    Peace ❤
    Jay

Leave a Reply

