America hears my song

Guess what poem I am responding to. This is a Lit assignment turned poem-spasm. Take a moment to clear your mind before reading this. I promise it’ll help. Enjoy.

-Ben

America hears my song

I sing to deaf ears, America.

The galley from where I did grow
has transformed, at my hands,
into a palace.

Yet for my duty, for my sweat,
and for my sacrifice,
They send me again
to another cold deck.

With no food, nor companionship,
nor warmth,
I again grow strong.
My conviction heats the fires below my feet
and I stand tall
and breathe light unto the dark sea around me.

I sing to deaf ears, America,
but even deaf ears will hear my song.

-Ben

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to America hears my song

  1. Jay in VA says:

    Beautiful poetry. Very fitting. Good stuff. Tell your Lit teacher about the blog, you’ll get an A based on the writing here!
    Thanks, Ben, nice post.
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  2. Juan says:

    I think not only America hears your song, because I’m from Buenos Aires and I check for new posts here every day. You guys are doing such a good work!
    I really thank you for sharing your lifes with us.
    I wish the three of you a happy life being proudly who you are.

Leave a Reply

