What is heartbreak (an original poem by Brandon Asemah)

What is Heart Break?

by Brandon Asemah

We can no longer say hello, hi, or hey
without feeling uncomfortable.

No texts, calls, or emails,
From one another –
For the sake or sanity
We never dated – well except once
Which you claimed to have had fun

– you said, “lets do it again”,
and I had a great time –
But you continuously neglected to make at a second run.
You see – I believe that was our real problem.
Actions that spoke louder than words
Which you never sang, hymned, or even shared
To show what it was – that I could give you.

I’m selfish – but I can admit that.
But my selfishness never deterred me away from your well-being.
All I attempted–was to check on you and your state of mind
Time after time – I would use both my actions and words to speak volumes,
To tell you how I was there for a shoulder, a release, and an even a late night peace.

-silence…-

So what is heartbreak?
Looking away,
or down when – you’re around?
Hitting a left when I see you coming right?
No – because the heartbreak began much longer ago.
It all started –
with a “Hello”

– Robert

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Poetry, Robert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is heartbreak (an original poem by Brandon Asemah)

  1. Jay M. says:

    Wow. Very powerful. Very cool. Nice post.
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  2. Branden says:

    Thanks for posting this and working with me! You’re the best.

    Jay– I really appreciate your compliments. Good to know someone is listening!

Leave a Reply

