More tryouts

I missed posting about the second day of tryouts, today was the third. Lemme update everyone.

The second day, Tuesday, was rainy, so we had tryouts inside. We were divided by grade, and then chose partners. My group, the juniors, began with a broad jump (standing long jump.) I think I was average; I haven’t got much jumping skill. I got 6’9″. Another kid, also a junior, blew my jump away. As he lined his four foot ten inch body I jokingly said to him,” You want me to push you forward when you jump?”

“No,” he replied. “I’m part monkey. Watch this.”

He proceeded to jump eight feet and three inches, almost twice his own height. Damn amazing.

After the broad jump, my group of juniors moved to pushups. We were given five minutes to do as many pushups as possible. The hard part isn’t having a time limit, it’s the pushups. After building up some lactic acid in my chest, we moved to stairs, the greatest worst exercise of all time. The staircase is three and a half flights of about ten steps. We ran those for five minutes.

Next was situps. Just like pushups, we had five minutes to get sore and tired.

After that we did some more stairs, cooled down, and went home.

Here comes day three, the first day on a field, a wet, soggy field. Today consisted of timed laps, juggling, dribbling, volleys, chest, headers, and one-on-one. One one-on-one won me over. I was defending against a player whom I’m good friends with and play with on club. He came at me and my positioning kind of destroyed him. He tried a turn, it didn’t work. It ended up with me stealing the ball nicely. The coach, who was watching, said,” Ben, that’s a starting position on varsity right there.” I said, in my head,” Fuck yes, coach. That’s right.” Today was a good day.

Tomorrow and on will progressively focus more on game skills. Let’s see what goes down.

-Ben

P.S. I bet there are some gay players trying out, I just can’t figure out who… yet. I’m staying vigilant. Also, my soccer team is fairly… homophilic. No gay bashing, just good friends playin’ soccer. I’m glad everyone, more or less, is at tryouts to try out for a respected team.

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More tryouts

  1. Jay M. says:

    Well cool, Ben! All that work makes me ache – just reading about it! Oh to be young and full of energy again. Keep it up, you know it will pay off.
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  2. Best of luck Ben – I just practiced for 3 hours indoor gym 3v3 and threw up. It was so much fun. Now I’m off to the gym!
    Good Luck!

    -R

  3. Jeffrey Drummond says:

    Bravery, strength, honor, wisdom, vision: you guys have them all! congratulations on a great blog. BTW, cheers for Sean Avery and his pro-gay-hockey-player announcement. Jeff Drummond.

Leave a Reply

