Pursuit of Happiness

My first day of conditioning, a three-mile run and planks, broke my legs and elbows. I feel great. One week until tryouts! Here is my poem number 2: Pursuit of Happiness. Enjoy

-Ben

Where?
Where is my happiness?

I was told that happiness lies
In money,
In power,
In wealth.
So I built an empire and rose to greatness.
I looked back upon myself and- Now
Where? Where is my happiness?

I was told that happiness
Eludes businessmen,
Shies from moguls,
Hides from kings with smoke screens.
So I relinquished my title
And I sold my good fortune- Now
Where? Where is my happiness?

I was told that happiness is only for those
Blessed with enlightenment,
Watched over by God,
Loved by the people.
So I learned the good book
And followed scripture- Now
Where? Where is my happiness?

I climbed
Through forests,
Up mountains,
Across deserts.
My happiness remains one step beyond.
So I retire to my bed, and in climbs another.
There. There is my happiness.

-Ben

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pursuit of Happiness

  1. Jay M. says:

    Hey, guys!
    Just found your blog, from the LA Times article today. It’s great that you’re here in the blogworld, doing what you’re doing. Your writing is great, and I hope your mission is achieved. I added you to my blogroll. Hope to drive some (maybe a little) traffic your way. I’m just an old guy who waited 38 years after he “knew” to ever say the words and stick a toe out of the closet. So far so good. Maybe you three will help others avoid all those years of living hidden that I dealt with (or didn’t). Hope you’re around for the long haul!
    Peace ❤
    Jay

  2. Brett says:

    Planks are great. My trainer has me do a bunch of different types. They sure kick your butt but they do a good job of really attacking your core.

  3. Mark D says:

    Nice poem. The way the frustration plays out in the end is kinda cute, hah.

Leave a Reply

