Aloft On a Cloud

This is an assignment I had to do for my American Literature class. It’s a reflection of how I think all people should treat their obstacles and their setbacks. Take this and live by it. Feel free to ask questions.

Aloft On a Cloud

Let  come who has abandoned me

Who fosters thorns that reach out to drag me down and down into a dry brush where I’ll never be found.

I lay myself in a small meadow with a floor of grass and walls of oak and a ceiling of stars.

Each breath I take fosters only silence, the wind even ignores me.

The moon chuckles overhead at my loneliness.

I once laughed at the moon.

I wish again to dance through streets lined with smiling old faces, creased and tough from   years of living and breathing and learning that I so yearn for.

I could fly, soar over rooftops, I was aloft on a cloud.

“Can I? Of course.”

No fence or tree or rooftop or mountain proved my better. I had the upper hand always.

I was aloft on a cloud.

The wind carried me for miles, steady all the way-

And by the wind who had carried me, pushing its hands through my hair, I fell.

The ground who I had so long eluded greeted me with a clenched fist and I was afraid,

As a hooked fish gasping for breath as it is pulled from the water.

Just as I fell from the sky, I raised myself up off the ground and dusted off my lapel

And continued, if not by air, then by foot.

I now lay myself in a small meadow with a floor of grass and walls of oak and a ceiling of stars.

Let come who has abandoned me

I hold no grief or anger or villainy, I wish only to fly again.

-Ben

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aloft On a Cloud

  1. Chelle says:

    This is so beautiful. It made me cry like a baby. I’ve been in exactly this spot. Thank you for sharing this and for doing what you ALL are doing.

    You’re all amazing.

Leave a Reply

