A Love Letter to Lady Gaga

Dear Lady Gaga,

I am one of your many “Little Monsters,” but sadly I have until recently had to be a closeted little monster. Being closeted meant that I did not allow myself to sing your songs at the top of my lungs and dance to them in my “black panther” way in public. I did that with some of my friends of course but never at school dances. The times are beginning to change though for me, the darkness around me is beginning to become light. Now instead of having to dance like a maniac in my room with the door shut while no one is home, I dance in my car.

When some people talk about dancing they really just mean swaying back and forth. Dancing for me is a type of stress reliever where I become my alter ego (“black panther’) and I just go crazy. Thanks to you, Lady Gaga, through your pop music, I have been able to go crazy to every song on your album. For the past few months I have listened to your album, “The Fame,” on full blast in my IPod. Your songs always keep me going during cross country and track training when all I want to do is stop on the side of the road and collapse from exhaustion. These songs have been a live saver. They all mean something different to me and hold their own special place in my heart.

“Just Dance” will always be my all-time favorite but that is because it is the song that got me hooked on your style of music. Every time after basketball practice “Just Dance” would come on the radio while I was in the car with some buddies of mine. We would jam out and do our cheesy dance moves such as the Sprinkler or just fling our arms around in the air. Luckily my dance moves have evolved since then.

It has been a few years since then, and I have drastically grown as a person, such as coming out. In the beginning of my love for you, I only knew about your pop hits. I did not know how much of a gay advocate you were. Now I do know and I love you for who you truly are instead of just your music. I love every single music video of yours, I love ever single outfit you wear, and I love how you don’t just dream about equality. You, Lady Gaga, are taking steps in making equality real.

You have inspired me to become who I am today, and you will always be my hero in life for what you have done for me as a person as well as for LGBT people everywhere in the world. I just want you to know that I would not be who I am today without you. If it was not for you, I know for a fact this blog would not have been created. Lady Gaga, I wish you all the best and I am excited for February 14 to hear your new album. Thank you for everything that you have done for me.

Love,
Brad

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Brad. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Love Letter to Lady Gaga

  1. Phunk Factor says:

    A very innovative post!

    And yes, we all are her Little Monsters and I can’t wait to listen to her new single premiering on 13th Feb.!

  2. Manny says:

    As a fellow Lady Gaga fan, I can tell you that the strength and inspiration you found to be who you are in her songs has (and always will) be inside of you…

    Lady Gaga didn’t make you dance, you did.
    She just told you to just dance and it’ll be ok. 🙂

    There are many artists/singers/supporters out there, but until you find it in you to love yourself for who you are, they will mean nothing.

    Keep up the writing!

Leave a Reply

