No Comment

Today I experienced something I hoped I’d never have to: mental torment. Many kids, of whom I don’t even know, started asking me if I were gay. (Even so, if that’s the case, you don’t ask someone during the middle of class from across the room.)

Now being the kind of person I am, I enjoy confrontation – however, when I walked over to sharpen my pencil – one of the guys backed away from me like I had some sort of disease. I didn’t like this very much so I asked what his problem was, and he replied with the word ‘fag’ and other expletives. So I smiled at him, walked back to my seat, grabbed my bag, and headed to my English class to recite a memorization.

I realized that leaving him with just a smile, rather than insulting his intelligence, or lack thereof (because, let’s be honest, you couldn’t even get exempt from Financial Planning),  I left him with no comment but a smile to piss him off even more.

My point here is, even though you can’t always ‘win’ with words, By simply smiling you can make them feel like what they’re doing is truly not affecting you. Would I have loved to punched him in the face and degrade his lack of intelligence? Sure, who wouldn’t; however, it’s better to be mature and walk away because in the end, I’m exempt and he’s there for the rest of the week and I won’t see him but walking in the hallways for the rest of my high school career.

And that concludes my rant for the night.

 

- Robert

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Robert, Share Your Story. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Comment

  1. Jay M. says:

    Gotta love maturity…gay, straight, whatever…just the smile says it all.
    Love ya, Robert! You got the chops!

    Peace <3
    Jay

  2. Ryan M. says:

    Winning. Enjoy the rest of your week off!

  3. dj says:

    That sucks. Hope everything turns out. In the meanwhile, be careful if you’re alone. There are a lot of weird people in high school who will commit depraved acts over something that doesn’t affect them. Use the buddy system. You handled the situation like a pro.

  4. LA says:

    Wow..You are like Ghandi of our generation..lol
    Anyways..that was very thoughtful of you..
    I really have alot of respect for you..oh and the other guys too <3

  5. android8000 says:

    I have to say that shows incredible will power and maturity which you seem to have an extraordinary amount of each! I respect what you did a lot, because to be honest I don’t know if I could do the same. I hope it doesn’t affect you in the least because haters don’t matter. I am going to reblog this post I think. Very good!
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

