Welcome!

Welcome to all those who found us through Outsports or elsewhere, we welcome you to our blog. Feel free to comment on any of the posts and don’t be shy!

Please check out the clickable links near the top of the page where you see our names and the “About Us” sections. On those links with our names on them, you can find our bios.

We are easy to contact and would appreciate answering anything you have to ask, so please feel free to e-mail us at: bradrobertben@gmail.com and follow us on Twitter @Bradrobertben

About Brad,Robert,Ben

We are three kids from three different time zones, with one common goal. This is our voice:
This entry was posted in Ben, Brad, Robert. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Welcome!

  1. Ethan Veenhuis says:

    You three are amazing inspirations for the entire LGBTQ Community, not just the younger generation. If everyone felt so compelled to be as open and honest as the three of you, the world would be a much better place! Congratulations on the new blog and I wish you all nothing but the best! If I can assist you in any way, please let me know.

    – Ethan

  2. Daen says:

    I saw your blog promoted on WGB and I want to let you know that there are people reading it, even here in Canada. It will be shared with my Gay-Straight Alliance this week and passed along to all of those who are just not there yet!

    Thanks guys!

  3. Mike says:

    First, all three of you guys should be commended for your bravery for not only speaking on behalf of gays in general, but to those involved in the world of sports as well. I am currently a closeted gay young man (I’m 21 years old), and like you all, I grew up playing sports. I played baseball up until my teenage years, and continue to be a huge sports fan to this day. I don’t know what I would do without baseball or hockey, and I am not what most people would see as a stereotypical gay man. Like Robert, I am also from the South, and most folks around here tend to hold more conservative views when it comes to homosexuality in my home state. Sort of ironically, I do consider myself a moderate Republican as when it comes to economics, foreign policy, national defense, and even many social issues, I do hold more conservative views, but that’s a whole different story. Of course, I’m all for gay rights, which makes me very different than the majority of other Republicans. Therefore, I have not had the luxury of coming out to anybody, let alone my family. My family is also very conservative in their beliefs, making it that much more difficult not only for me to come out to them, but even for me to accept who I really am. When you constantly hear members of your own family use words like “faggot” or “queer” in negative manners, it really takes it’s toll on you. It exhausts you mentally, and it really messes with your mind when you have to either bite your tongue or even go along with them when they use such degrading terms. One HUGE misconception that many straight people seem to wholeheartedly believe is that homosexuality is a choice. As we all know (homosexuals that is), that could not be further from the truth. In fact, I used to literally pray on a daily basis for God to make me straight in order for my life to be easier and more “normal” like my family and friends. Of course, I am who I am, and there is no changing that. Even though I am coming to accept myself more and more as time passes by, the aforementioned factors have prevented me from coming out of the closet. So, I continue to live a lie, which messes with you mentally, physically, and socially. I tend to try and keep my emotions in check in order to prevent any speculation of my sexuality. I’m almost positive there is still speculation by certain family members, but I try and combat that speculation by coming across as a stern, often times heartless person when in reality that could not be further from the truth. On the inside, I am a gay, intelligent, caring man who wants to be happy like everybody else. But, I have the symbolic chains of homophobia wrapped around me, preventing me from being me. Maybe one day soon I will be able to muster up the same courage that you guys did and reveal who I really am not only to my family, but to the rest of the world as well. Once again, you guys should be commended for your bravery and honesty, and good luck to all of you in your respective futures. Sorry for rambling in my post, but after discovering your blog, I developed an instant amount of respect for each of you. I don’t think you guys even know how much of an impact your blog already has made on many, many people throughout our great country.

  4. jack says:

    i wish you the best on the start of your new adventure. there is strength in numbers & that is a luxury that men of my generation did not have. those of us that have survived are very interested in your well being, and in supporting you as you make your way. don’t hesitate to ask for our suggestions or support. one thing we do have in out arsenal is a hell of a lot of experience.

    i hope you will be tweeting each time you make an entry. i know i found it difficult to keep up with all the blogs i might be interested in, and those that remind me via twitter are the ones i rarely miss. i am @bandanajack on twitter.

  5. Uncle Gerry says:

    I discovered you guys through the articles posted on Outsports. I, too, must commend you three on the courage you have displayed by being out gay teenage athletes. It is heartening to see the next generation of proud gay people who are unafraid to let the world know they will not deny themselves but who will live open lives in hopes of changing the world for the better. Your efforts will reach and encourage many who have yet to come to terms with themselves and their own place in the world. May you have the success you seek and the blessings you deserve. I am placing a link to your blog on my own blog and letting my readers know of your efforts and the respect I have for you.

  6. Tom Brooks says:

    Brad, Robert, and Ben–you sound like normal guys doing something interesting that will look good on your CV someday. And you’re part of the great brotherhood of sports that both a) communicates life by physical achievement and b) binds sportsmen together that value such things. I’ve found that life has ups and downs but being physically active has been my personal base to say I have value when I might doubt. Gays may not always lead the pack but they damn well are in the pack. Keep up the activity and have fun doing it.

  7. Luis says:

    All three of you are awesome. Best of luck with the blog and your individual sport. I look forward to reading about your adventures and the positive impact you will have on the world 😀

    Luis

  8. Graeme says:

    Hey guys,
    All the best with the blog, congrats on all the positive steps you’ve made in your lives already…
    Have a good ‘un
    Staggie G

  9. Jeff says:

    I read about this on Outsports and am glad I checked it out. It was good to meet each one of you thorough your bios and initial posts. What you three are doing is impressive, courageous and bound to be an inspiration to many. I look forward to keeping up with the blog.

  10. Niclas says:

    Love U guys for putting up this blog! Power and Love from Stockholm Sweden!

    Niclas 19y Soccerplayer

  11. Dave says:

    I found you through Towleroad’s link to the Outsports story. I don’t have the slightest interest in any team sports and barely any interest in any other kind, but I will be following your blog faithfully. Congratulations on doing something to make the world better for others. This blog will create change and I can’t wait to watch it happen.

  12. willbnyc says:

    Good luck, y’all! I wasn’t able to come out when I was an athlete at my small Alabama high school (tennis, football, basketball), but a blog like this would have been amazing. Thanks for starting it. We gay athletes always seem to hold ourselves to a higher standard and the pressure can sometimes be great, so please remember one thing: you don’t have to be perfect to be good, and you don’t have to be perfect to do good.

  13. Jay says:

    Hey Guys:

    Congratulations on launching an inspiring and affirming blog. I’ve been mentoring troubled young people in a local youth assistance program for 11 years and I have seen the damage living a lie — in any capacity — can do to a person. Not only do the three of you have the courage to live your truth and be yourselves on every level, you also have the extraordinary fortitude to do it publicly and serve as role models to others. That’s pretty huge. I salute you and I am proud to be a fan.

  14. G says:

    Ahoy-hoy,

    I found your blog through another blog I frequent, and quite frankly, I’m really glad that I did.

    What you folk are doing…well, it’s great. Even living in a liberal country, in a incredibly liberal city, I didn’t feel comfortable enough coming out to my rugby team.
    The idea of it terrified me. Being into sports while being Queer? Those felt immediately incompatible. What’s worst, is I didn’t question why until after I graduated if my instinct and insecurities were founded on something real.

    There’s no reason why sexual orientation should get in the way of achievement- in athletics, or anywhere. What I’m trying to say, I think, is thank you for doing what most of us didn’t have the courage or initiative to do.

    I really strongly believe that you guys are doing your part to help inspire the cultural shift our world really needs right now.

    rock a little,

    – some guy

  15. WASHINGTON DC JAN 10 |

    Dear Guys,
    It’s impressive that at your age you have found the motivation to reach out and help your LGBTQ peers by inspiring them through your efforts here.
    I wish you much luck and best wishes, please feel free to add me to your media contacts list.

    Sincerely,

    Brody Levesque
    Publisher & Editor
    BL Freelance News Service LLC
    Washington D. C.
    (202) 556-0877

  16. Harris of Hollywood says:

    Positive Gay Youth. Kudos!

  17. JTBLA says:

    Hey Ben:
    You wrote: “87.356% gay.” What is the other 12.644%? 😉

  18. Cole says:

    Fantastic work fellas. I love the desire to challenge stereotypes in an often bigoted field. I have friends that have gone and wrestled for Big 10 schools and left when his orientation became public knowledge because his team was some homophobic. It’s nice to see people being themselves and challenging others’ assumptions.

  19. Matthew Grant says:

    Great job, guys — hope you keep up with the blogging often and stay the course. The longevity of the site will really increase its effectiveness in reaching out to other people. You make us all proud.

Leave a comment